The Humble Brag

1 Peter 5:6

So humble yourselves under the mighty power of God, and at the right time he will lift you up in honor.

being humble is pretty hard.. with instagram, facebook and so many other social media outlets we can constantly show everyone how great you are.

BUT then I think of the mighty power of God. that power that created the earth, that formed a human being inside me, that made the perfect clouds and the scent of roses.

I live in a place where poor means you have a cell phone, internet, a roof over your head and food to eat, but you dont have the newest vehicle and you cant get the best smart tv.  I have nothing to worry about, my children are taken care of, my husband and I have good jobs, and while it feels tight in our finances at times, we can afford to live in our rich culture.  I am humbled by that. I am humbled by the fact that Jesus chose me to live in 2017 in america. I am humbled that i’m not pulling salt out of the bottom of a lake for $10 a day, or that i dont have think about what my children and I are going to eat or where we will sleep at night. I’m humbled that I grew up in a christian family where they taught me how to love people.  I’m humbled that I am loved, that I am given what I dont deserve, that I live a life that some dream of having.

 

I have been complaining a lot… about my finances, about my husband working too much and me being too busy, that my kids have been too stir crazy in the cold, that im not losing weight and i’m so tired all the time.  Jesus remind me of your MIGHTY POWER. remind me that in my weakness you are strong.  That you provide for my family, keep us healthy and so many other amazing things. I’m sorry for forgetting your goodness. You are amazing.

 

and now a challenge. someone told me they try to walk into a place and see something new every day. walk into a room and see something something new. a new face, a new decoration something new.  And pray for someone.

pray for anyone. just pray for someone other than yourself.

 

tlainey

Leave a Reply

