My word of the year

Submit.

2016 was crazy. We did a lot. not only did we do a lot but it was a year with more changes.. there are always changes!! I guess by now I would be used to them, but i’m not and it throws me off and I feel like 2016 turned into the year of no time for God.

no time for God.

that breaks my heart. My heart is for Jesus, He is my number one, my life, my strength.. but something happened this year and it’s like I just had no motivation any more.

I want motivation back. I want conviction, yearning, hunger.. i want those back.

I realized I can’t make those come back. I can’t force motivation, hunger, conviction.. those are all natural tendencies and if those are going to come back I have to submit.

I have to submit to God, to a relationship with Him, submit to what He is telling me, to where He wants me to go and what He wants me to do.

SUBMIT

I don’t know how to do this. I’m the most controlling person I know. I continually fail at submitting to my husband, myself, my kids.. I am a mess at submitting, but thats what makes it beautiful I guess… to not know… because that’s what submitting is.. letting go.

Googled “Definition of Submit”:

sub·mit
səbˈmit/
verb
  1. accept or yield to a superior force or to the authority or will of another person.
     synonyms:
     – give in/way, yield, back down, cave in, capitulate;  surrender, knuckle under

                         “she submitted under duress”
     – be governed by, abide by, be regulated by, comply with, accept, adhere to, be subject to, agree to, consent to, conform to
                         “he refused to submit to their authority”

so i’m starting with bible studying.. here I go.

Psalms 2:9-11:

You will break them with an iron rod
and smash them like clay pots.’”
Now then, you kings, act wisely!
Be warned, you rulers of the earth!
Serve the Lord with reverent fear,
and rejoice with trembling.

some translations say  in verse 9 “dash them in pieces like a potter’s vessel.” usually when the potter is referenced in the bible it’s talking about ‘the maker’ or God.  I see this particular verse and while it looks like God is just going to destroy all the nations I just looks to me like he’s going to break them, as in break their hearts, and put them together in His image.

Verse 10 & 11 are a little more straight forward, God wants the kings/rulers/leaders of the nations to turn to Him, respect Him, fear Him.. I mean could you imagine the world submitting to God. what a beautiful world.

I thought this was a pretty fitting passage for the new year (which was randomly just at the top of 56 verses about submitting).  One, it teaches me that one way to submit is to respect God and know that He is in charge of this world no matter what leaders are. Two, because of our new president. Our country is so divided.. understandably. there are 2 much different views in this country right now. But I have hope and I pray desperately that our new ruler of our country reads this verse and serves the Lord with reverent fear and rejoices with trembling. in the mean time I’m going to try to do that too.

excuse my misspellings and horrible horrible grammar, but it’s my thing and my blog.

love tlainey

Leave a Reply

