Being De-vot[e]d

About 7-8 years ago I was offered this awesome opportunity to be a children’s pastor.  At that time I had just left college and while in college I had been apart of this HUGE children’s ministry that had probably hundreds of kids apart of it.  I had never had to plan a lesson, deal with kids one on one in a ‘classroom’ / ‘church’ setting, or do an event or class by myself.  I was so in love with the big production that I had seen that I had in my head that is was children’s ministry was.  Well, I was very wrong. not only did I only ever have 1-2 students maybe every other week, but I also had a very hard time coming up with lessons for us and getting the kids interest, or even me interested for that matter.  It ended up being something that I dreaded and I was really disappointed because I had set myself up for that to be what I did for the rest of my life.  Eventually they took the funds away to do children’s church and we went back to the church we originally were at.  That was such a big blow for me.  I was hurt by the pastors, I was disappointed in myself and I had some very hard personal things happening in my family at the same time.  I stopped doing ‘ministry’ type things after that because I didn’t want to go through the disappointment of letting myself down or anyone else in the path.  I sang a little, got a job a christian daycare of a bit, but for the most part I just told everyone I was trying to strengthen my relationship with God, when in all reality I was hiding from being hurt again.  We moved from Missouri to Wisconsin and that’s when I realized I had to work to keep my relationship with God going let alone anything else.  In the ‘bible belt’ where everyone went to church and everyone talked about God, I could just float along… but in Wisconsin where very little people talk about God in every day conversation and no one is expecting you to go to church on a sunday it became a huge struggle to stay committed.  I am now working at my relationship with Jesus, purposely making it to church every sunday, intentionally getting into the word of God and it’s opening doors to things I love.  I can now say I’m really working on my relationship with Him and I am getting more involved because I’m excited to and I’m ready for the next step in my life!!

so enough about me.

here are some verses from this week that touched my heart strings.

1 Corinthians 11:11

But among the Lord’s people, women are not independent of men, and men are not independent of women.

We as women always say ‘anything you can do, I can do better’ but it’s not a competition.. we need to work side by side to be strong because we both bring special abilities to the table to make things work!

1 Corinthians 12:26

If one part suffers, all the parts suffer with it, and if one part is honored, all the parts are glad.

Paul is talking to the church body here and how we should be helping each other and strengthening each other.  If we allow our ‘brothers’ to be weak then it only brings ourselves down as well.

1 Corinthians 13:13

Three things will last forever – FAITH, HOPE and LOVE – and the greatest of these is LOVE.

ugh, I could read this verse a million times and still love it.  Paul tells the church that eventually everything will fade away, everything will be gone, but the 3 things that will never leave are faith, hope and love.

1 Corinthians 14:34

Women should be silent during the church meeting.  It is not proper for them to speak.  They should be submissive, just as the law says.

another thing I love are controversial verses. lol.  I was upset reading this verse like ‘what Jesus?! I can’t talk at church?’ So I read up on it in my study bible to see what was going on here for Paul to say this. my study bible says this:

Does this mean women should not speak in church services today?  It is clear from 11:5 [But a woman dishonors her head if she prays or prophesies without covering on her head, for this is the same as shaving her head] women prayed and prophesied in public worship.  It is also clear in chapters 12-14 that women are given spiritual gifts and are encouraged to exercise them in the body of Christ.  Women have much to contribute and can participate in worship services.  In the Corinthian culture, women were not allowed to confront men in public.  Apparently some of the women who had become Christians thought that their Christian freedom gave them the right to question the men in public worship. This was causing division in the church.  In addition, women of that day did not receive formal religious education as did the men.  Women may have been raising questions in the worship services that could have been answered at home without disruption of the services.  Paul was asking the women not to flaunt their Christian freedom during worship.  The purpose of Paul’s words was to promote unity, not to teach about women’s roles in the church.

[page 1944, Tyndale Life application Study Bible, New Living Translation]

1 Corinthians 15:10

But whatever I am now, it is all because God poured out His special favor on me – and not without results.  For I have worked harder than any of the other apostles; yet it was not I but God who was working through me by His grace.

He is telling the church how is did not deserve to know Jesus while he was alive, but that Jesus still chose him even though he was not a ‘good’ person.  I love this verse because he is so humbled and so thankful for what God did for him and not only that, but it shows that ANYONE can come to know Jesus at any part of their lives and that God loves them!!

have a great weekend!

love,

tlainey

Leave a Reply

