OMG! Look what he got me!!!!!!!

Valentines.

It’s always been my favorite holiday, but for very different reasons than everyone else has.  When my hubs worked on the road (he was away from home 8 months a year) I would always get to see him on Valentine’s Day because there was a show 2 hours away from where I lived over that same weekend every year.  Most of the time it was the very first time seeing him for that whole beginning of the year! We also conceived our first baby on Valentine’s which ended in a miscarriage.  So, it has always meant so much to me.   There have been years where all I was expecting is what gift I was going to get or where he was going to take me, but this year I wanted it to be different.  Valentine’s Day is supposed to celebrate love. God’s love, love for your significant other, love for your children, your family, your friends… LOVE. I asked hubs not to get me anything, but to write me a letter. All I want this year is something MEANINGFUL.  Gifts are great! I am a huge gift girl, but I didn’t want it to be about what I expected out of him this year I wanted it to be about us, about our family, about sharing love to a stranger, sitting without our phones at dinner, cuddling with our kids during a movie… those things are what Valentine’s Day means.

This is what LOVE is:

  • Love is patient
  • Love is kind.
  • It does not envy,
  • it does not boast,
  • it is not proud.
  • It does not dishonor others,
  • it is not self-seeking,
  • it is not easily angered,
  • it keeps no record of wrongs.
  • Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
  • It always protects,
  • always trusts,
  • always hopes,
  • always perseveres.
  • Love never fails.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

That is God’s love right there, something I strive to do every day.  I fail a lot, but Jesus is so merciful and SO LOVE.

SO, hug a stranger.  Pay for someone’s gas. Genuinely ask someone about their day and then listen to them. smile. laugh. kiss. cuddle. play!

-tlainey

Leave a Reply

